Week 39: Jim Shaw’s Seafood Grill

Jim Shaw’s is a staple restaurant located on Vineville in Macon, GA. It comes highly recommended from almost everyone that enjoys seafood. I’m not a big seafood person, but Hillarie loves it. I’ll try not to drag this on too long, so let’s make this review a short one.

blackened scallops, shrimp, and alligator

Hillarie went with a daring choice of a combination plate. She got shrimp, scallops and alligator, all blackened. Although tasty, she wasn’t too keen on the alligator. She loved the scallops, but didn’t think the shrimp was anything too special. Unfortunately, she is trying a no wheat type diet, so the battered fries and hushpuppy were kindly donated to my side of the table.

clam strips

I myself ordered something I really haven’t eaten since my youth, fried clam strips. Like I mentioned earlier, I’m not a big seafood person. I can get real picky about what I eat. But I’ve always loved fried clam strips for some odd reason and felt like taking a nostalgia trip. Luckily, they were just right. Frying them too long can cause the strips to get too tough and become inedible. I filled up on these, as well as the battered french fries and extra hushpuppies.

Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding

When it came time for dessert, I had no room left. However, one of the items caught my eye so I just had to get it to go. The owner’s wife makes the desserts fresh and tonight she had a Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding. And honestly, it tastes just like you think it would. The custard topping was very delicious, albeit a bit on the runny side.

Personally, we were pleased with our meals and would definitely return sometime in the future.

Jim Shaw's Seafood Grill on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 39: Jim Shaw’s Seafood Grill

  1. Pingback: Bonus: Best of… | 52weeks52restaurants

Leave a Reply

