Week 32: Nu-Way and Wilson’s Bakery

This week, we visit two Middle Georgia icons. First, Nu-Way for lunch, followed by Wilson’s Bakery for an assortment of sweets to top off our afternoon. Conveniently for us, there is a Nu-Way location just across the street from Wilson’s, so we did not have to travel far. Unfortunately for me, this review may generate some real hate mail, as I know how popular and loved Nu-Way is among its many fans.

Before I tell you what I think, let’s show some photos from our lunch. I ordered the Mega-burger and a side of fries. The Mega-burger is a quarter pound patty on a sesame seed bun. Because I love bacon, and who doesn’t, I also asked for bacon on my burger.
Mega-Burger and fries

Matt ordered the double hot dog plate. And, because he is a hot dog snob (and so am I), he properly added mustard as a garnish, not ketchup.
Hot dogs

So, what did we think? First of all, Matt declared the signature red-dyed hot dogs to be the perfect kind of hot dogs. I don’t share that opinion, because I like all beef franks. That’s just my preference. And many say you go to Nu-Way for the hot dogs, not the burger, so I shouldn’t have a high expectation for the burgers. I don’t want to be rude, and rather than make comparisons, just note that while the burger was by no means inedible, I don’t think Nu-Way will be my go-to for burgers in the future.

There, I’ve done it. Let the hate mail roll in!

Now, on to our sugar-induced coma from Wilson’s Bakery. First of all. Wilson’s has a very distinct smell that infuses itself into every baked good they produce. I don’t know what it is exactly, but you know it’s Wilson’s when you smell this sweet delight. Someone must tell me what precisely they do to their doughs that make everything distinctly Wilson’s by aroma and taste.

As for the goods. It’d be easy to say we went with the signature items at Wilson’s, but we’ve (mainly me as a native Middle Georgian) have had these items many many times before. What might those signature items be? Finger. Nut. Cookies. They are the calling card of Wilson’s, along with their melt-in-your-mouth flower-decorated cookies. Here’s a photo of their finger nut cookies for the uninitiated.
Finger Nut Cookies

Cookies
More cookies!

So what did we go home with (besides a guaranteed belly ache)?
assorted treats
CW from L: Gingerbread Man, Cookie Monster w/ Toffee Cookies, Carrot Cake Cookie, Red Velvet Cupcake

assorted sweets
CW from Top: Cookie Monster w/ M&M cookies, Red Velvet cookie, Apple fritter

Standouts: Gingerbread man, apple fritter, and the cookie monsters.
Worth a go: Red velvet cupcake, carrot cake cookie
Better in theory than reality: Red velvet cookie

Matt is a huge, huge fan of the apple fritters at Wilson’s. I definitely think it’s their best donut product. I haven’t had a bad cupcake, yet, from Wilson’s, but we’re disappointed they aren’t currently offering the orange creamsickle cupcake. Wilson’s also offers lots of other yummy baked goods like donuts, brownies, cakes, fudge, and sweet empanadas.

Nu-Way Weiners on Urbanspoon

Wilsons Bakery on Urbanspoon

About hfurm

Live, work, and play in Middle Georgia. I am: software craftswoman, Crossfitter, Primal Blueprinter, mountain biker, cat owner.
This entry was posted in Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 32: Nu-Way and Wilson’s Bakery

  1. Pingback: Bonus: Best of… | 52weeks52restaurants

Leave a Reply

