Week 11: Jonah’s on Johnston

Last weekend, we considered the recommendations from our Viewer’s Choice and selected Jonah’s on Johnston in downtown Forsyth. The bonus part of this trek out of town was the fact Forsyth was holding their annual Forsythia Festival. We perused the many vendor setups for a while before having dinner at Jonah’s. They bill themselves as a brick oven pizzeria and bistro. When we walked in, we of course took immediate interest in the yummy looking baked goods in their bakery display. Something to look forward to after our meal!

Matt likes to try calzones at pizza joints, so he didn’t take long to settle on one at Jonah’s. He thought the calzone was average, but he really enjoyed the sauce on the side.
Calzone at Jonah's on Johnston (Forsyth GA)

I went with a meatball pizza and was pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was. The crust was just the right mix of crispy and chewy. I selected their “blush” sauce which is a mix of tomato and their garlic & herb olive oil sauce. I ordered the 8″ pizza and ate half while we were there. And then, something very unusual for me, I finished it off when we got home before I even put it into the refridgerator.
Meatball Pizza at Jonah's on Johnston (Forsyth, GA)

We ordered a couple desserts to-go. I chose the Peanut Butter Bar and Matt went with the Cheesecake Swirl Brownie. We ended up trading with each other after a few bites. In retrospect, I wish I had tried a chocolate chip cookie instead — they were big fat cookies.
Peanut Butter Pie and Cheesecake Swirl Brownie

I have to say that Jonah’s is a must-try if you find yourself near Forsyth for lunch or dinner. I am already craving more of that pizza.

Jonah's on Urbanspoon

About hfurm

Live, work, and play in Middle Georgia. I am: software craftswoman, Crossfitter, Primal Blueprinter, mountain biker, cat owner.
This entry was posted in Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 11: Jonah’s on Johnston

  1. Jodi says:

    I am so glad I just read this! I happen to be going to Forsyth tomorrow. I usually get food in Gray and eat on the way to Forsyth when I have to make this trip but I’ll be holding out this time. Thanks guys!

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year Commentary | 52weeks52restaurants

Leave a Reply

